brezhnevian leaders.

Each federated republic of the Soviet Union was led by the local First Secretary of the Communist Party. During the Brezhnev era (1964-1985), the SSRs of Transcaucasia and Central Asia were governed by irremovable leaders who remained in power on average between 15 and 25 years. They all have the particularity of being nationals of the republic they governed, of practicing a cult of personality, of exercising a policy of compromise regarding Moscow, and of being all interested in architecture. Their long-term involvement in public life enabled them to initiate the design of a large number of urban and architectural projects.